• Meta

  • April 2006
    M T W T F S S
        May »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • Categories

  • Archives

Into the Pool

Here goes nothing. Finally I’m venturing into a blog – late to the party of course, which is typical of me. It took a class assignment to move me to test the waters, when so long now I’ve been watching everyone else splashing in the pool.

What’s with the water references? I once watched the National Zoo’s three capybaras as they hesitated at the sloping edge of their slowly filling pool, each waiting for the others to go first. Eventually one of the brothers did deign to venture in: butt first, and very slowly. And that’s how I feel now.

Capybaras amuse me no end, and I’m not alone in this. So, here’s to the world’s largest rodent, slowly backing into the swimming pool with that priceless expression on its snout.

Leave a Reply

