• Meta

  • November 2006
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • Categories

  • Archives

Hey, it’s Halloween

[Edited to add that, hey, this was written and posted at 11:15pm October 31 but thanks to Daylight Savings and no automatic update on this blog, it registered as past midnight and November 1. Ah, technology.]

Supposedly the ghouls and goblins are out tonight, although I haven’t even seen any kids in costume yet. What am I doing this night of trick-or-treating? Why, I’m sitting at my desk doing schoolwork (boy, those essays don’t get any easier, do they?) and selling my stuff on Craigslist. So I am sort of handing out treats (anyone want a CD?) but then I’m getting a few dollars in return so I don’t suppose that counts. Yes, quite an exciting life. Ganesh is fast asleep on the couch and I’m listening to The Decemberists while wrestling with Walter Benjamin and concepts of digital culture. Just another domestic evening here in DC. And oh hey, I made bechamel sauce tonight. Or a version of it with cheddar anyway. Yumm.

But I bring up tonight’s choice of music for a reason, because I have done something fun and exciting this week, and something quite unprecedented too. Sunday, Ganesh and I went to see The Decemberists at the 9:30 Club. Yes, I went to a live show on a night before work. And it was totally worth the lack of sleep. And the sore feet and the bad back and did I mention the lack of sleep?

Ok, never mind that, because The Decemberists are awesome and this show was fantastic. They give good concert, those guys do. And for once I had been listening to a group before they signed with a major label (thanks Ganesh!), so I even knew some of the songs. And let me tell you, this group doesn’t just encourage you to sing along, no, they make sure you warm up properly first. Good thing too, because my throat was sore by the end of the night. Such energy, such fun, such great music! And boy, for having 6 people on stage, they sure had a lot of instruments too. The lead singer alone switched stringed instruments at least 5 times. I think I even glimpsed a lute in there.

Oh, excuse me one moment, I need to address something. You, yes, you the tall people – listen up a moment please. Or down, as the case may be. I am not tall. So I don’t know what pressures and obstacles you tall people might have to face towering over everything every day. I’m sure there’s drawbacks to height but I’m guessing that having other people’s heads block your line of sight is not among them. So, tall people? Here’s the deal: at public events like concerts and such, you are obligated to stand to the back of the room, ok? Because, you know, you can see over everyone. Whereas I am getting a really stiff neck trying to peer past three of you really tall guys to the stage. And I don’t think I should have to bring a footstool each and every time. OK? Alright then. Carry on.

So, where was I? Oh yes, raving about The Decemberists’ performance at the 9:30 Club. What a show. I mean, they even had some really lame jokes involving Chick Korea and coffee. And they ended the night by trooping through the crowd like ye minstrel shows of olde, with drum and tamburine, doing handstands and such. Ah, good times.

So, go buy their CDs – especially the new one The Crane Wife – and enjoy yourself some really literary songwriting and some great music.

Leave a Reply

