• Meta

  • December 2006
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Categories

  • Archives

Adventskalender, December 14 & 15

It seems I am falling a bit behind my daily description of the Advent calendar. But that is the business of the season, isn’t it? And besides, the surprises of these two days go together quite well, so I don’t feel so bad.

Yesterday, the barn added a larger trough, filled with straw and hay. How do I know the difference? I don’t know, but one bundle is yellow and one is green, and I fondly remember the pasta dish my parents made for me as a kid, where half the noodles were green, the other half the usual yellowish color, and this dish was called Heu und Stroh (hay and straw). And served with cream and peas, as I recall. Oh, that was sooo good. Plus, my mom told me she stayed up all night coloring half the noodles green, and I totally believed her.

Ahem, so today, we got someone to actually eat all that straw in the barn: a nice black and white cow. Of course, the other animals (guinea pigs and mice, I’m looking at you) are eager to try some of that hay themselves, but I don;t think the cow will have any trouble in that area. She is a lot bigger after all. [For pictures, see my Flickr account.]

One Response

  1. Wow! I really like your advent calendar, and the pics of it are great!

Leave a Reply

