• Meta

  • August 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Jan »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Categories

  • Archives

Random Selections

Almost made it all the way through August without posting a thing. So close. But really, the heat melted my keyboard. My brain was sucked into an alternate dimension. I had a really challenging class this summer.

Ahem.

And to start things off right, I’m now going to jump on a meme that’s been around so long it’s now a blogging institution – the Random Ten (songs from your iPod that is). I’ve avoided using the shuffle function up until today because I was told it drains the battery faster and, having acquired my iPod secondhand, I just didn’t think I should stress my music box that much. But today I went for it. Behold:

  1. El Farol – Santana
  2. She Cried – Toad the Wet Sprocket
  3. Sneaky Smith – Sopwith Camel
  4. Let’s Go to San Francisco – Flowerpot Men
  5. Come Rain or Come Shine – Don Henley (Leaving Las Vegas soundtrack)
  6. Use Me – Bill Withers
  7. Hittin’ the Bottle Again – John Lee Hooker
  8. One of These Nights – The Eagles
  9. “Doctor Gradus ad Parnassum” from Children’s Corner – Béla Fleck
  10. Tangled Up in Blue – Bob Dylan

Ok, that was a bit odd. I’m not a baby boomer, nor am I stuck in the 60s. I also forgot that I had Toad the Wet Sprocket in there. Do I like them? Let’s try this again. Go iPod:

  1. If You Don’t Cry – The Magnetic Fields
  2. Electrolite – REM
  3. It Takes a Lot to Laugh, It Takes a Train to Cry – Bob Dylan
  4. I’m Sorry I Love You –  The Magnetic Fields
  5. (Every Woman I Know) Crazy ‘Bout an Automobile – Ry Cooder
  6. Right Through You – Alanis Morissette
  7. Danny Boy – Johnny Cash
  8. The Needle and the Damage Done – Neil Diamond
  9. Reno Dakota – The Magnetic Fields
  10. I Was Meant for the Stage – The Decemberists

Alright, clearly I need to have a word with my iPod.  How is three Magnetic Fields songs out of ten songs shuffling at random?  A new try next week.

Leave a Reply

